ERC Banquet 2020

      The EXiT  Realty Challenge held it's 2020  awards banquet on the evening of January 16th at Supercharged Entertainment in Wrentham Mass.   It has become tradition that the teams do some  Kart racing  before settling down to dinner and awards. This year our friend and former ERC 375 Sportsman Champion Shawn Monahan was able to take down the win.

     Award time followed.  Appreciation plaques were delivered to the staff. Ken Brunell and Michael Blackmar were recognized for their excellent photography work. The  series enjoys a pleasant tech staff of Harold Churchill, Haley Knight and Brendon Barry .  They drew a nice round of applause. Terri Churchill and Lorraine Pard organize the show every week.  They were on hand.  The series enjoys four announcers.  John Gates, Harold Burdick, Blaise Brodeur and Tyler Morse bring the action to the fans throughout New England. Race director Christina Basset spends her spare nights off  as the Challenge Race Director controlling the on track action.   These are the people that make the series happen. They are mostly volunteers. The early part of the evening was dedicated to thanking them.

     The host tracks of the EXiT Realty Challenge were next to be recognized.  This season there were times when most thought we would not race in 2020. Mike Parks was the first to put the series back to work at Claremont Motorsports Park. The Challenge teams were never happier to get to race.  Jeff Zuidema and the Monadnock Speedway  provided our next event. Jeff is a huge supporter of the ProTrucks.  Joe Bassett and the Lee USA Speedway are also a huge part of our tour. More on that later. The Hudson Speedway was back on the schedule in 2020.  Teams all enjoyed the amazing venue that has become. The track ventured to Maine and raced at Wiscasset in 2020.  It was a huge struggle to get approval for that event but somehow the management pulled it off and the Challenge was included.  The series  was very thankful for those efforts.  The series appearance at Star Speedway was cancelled due to COVID restrictions.  The teams were there plenty practicing. 2021 will see a few appearances to make up for missing in 2020. Bobby Webber and his Star staff are like family and we cannot wait to get back!  Finally the Challenge Teams want to recognize Thompson Speedway and the ACT/PASS staff.  The World Series of Asphalt held at Thompson was doubtful to even happen until Chris and Tom from ACT and Pass respectively stepped in.  We are very proud to be part of their program.  Again Thanks to all of these great people, tracks and series for making the Challenge happen in 2020.

    The EXiT Realty Challenge has awesome sponsors.  Hoosier Tires East paid out over $8000 of Challenge Prize Money. Derek Beatrice / EXiT Realty were recognized for making the $1000  to win 1st place money possible. Tread Connection of Norwood supplied prizes for the fast time in qualifying and the race.  Billy McGinns Tree Service and  Stump Grinding provided individual race awards in 2020.  One big surprise was Critical Screenprinting.  They provided awesome shirts highlighting the 2021schedule to the teams.  Go to for all your custom T-Shirt, Screen Print and Embroidery needs. It cannot be said enough; The EXiT Realty Challenge has awesome sponsors.

     Team awards were up next.   Joe Bassett of Lee USA Speedway awarded the  most prestigious award of the night.. The NWIII award goes to the driver that did the most to promote and support ProTruck racing off track.  It is named after Norman Wrenn the III who was lost this winter.  Norman had ties to the trucks. He loved the competition and teams. He definitely had his eyes on owning the series in the  future.  He was interested in their success.  Randy Burr was the NWIII award winner for the 2020 season. 
     The EXiT Realty Challenge Champion  for 2020 was Duane Noll.  Duane Noll was one of the first competitors to be recruited when the series changed hands.  He immediately built the first D Chassis.   The 2 team was not the favorite to win the Chase  Race at Claremont.  Early on it looked like a two team battle as the 32 of Randy Burr and the 15jr of Gerard Giordano Jr. were the furthest teams towards the front.  The duo battled a bit two aggressively. G-Rod lost a front tire and both teams ended up in the turn 4 fence.    The 31 of Ryan Vanasse was the next to appear unbeatable. He charged up to the top 5, but also suffered a flat after contact with the 1ne of Lucas Leone.  Veterans Koenig, #97 and Noll, #2 were quietly making their way to the front.  Koenig was the wild card entry.  His goal was simple. He had to win to be champ.  Noll on the other hand had no other contender on the lead lap, and simply had to finish on that lap to be Champ if Koenig could not pull off the miracle. Duane kept his #2  Silverado in front of the 97 and  motored to a 3rd place finish.  Duane Noll is the 2020 EXiT Realty Champion.  

     Noll kept his speech short and sweet at the banquet.  He thanked his sister Beth.  Beth is crew chief, spotter and whatever else you need. She stands tall beside her brother. They have multiple Championships in truck racing.  They are the best brother sister team on our tour and probably in New England. It is a pressure packed experience to race in a Chase Race.  Duane handled it with ease.  Congratulations to the 2020 EXiT Realty Challenge Champion Duane Noll.

The positional  and specialty awards  for 2020 are listed below.

  • Crew Chief of the Year -  Joe Kass #97

  • Innovation Award - Jason Ferreira  #24

  • 9th points position -  Lucas Leone   #1ne
    • 2020 Hard Charger Award

  • 8th Position - Emma Monahan - #78
    • Most Improved  Driver
    • Most Popular Driver
  • 7th Position - Connor Souza #38
    • 2020 Rookie of the Year
    • D Chassis Points Champion
  • 6th Position - Andrew Morin - #10
    • 2020 Iron Man Award
  • 5th Position - Randy Burr - #32
    • NWIII Award
  • 4th Position - Ryan Vanasse

  • 3rd Position - Gerard Giordano Jr. -15jr
    • Overall Points Champion / Mr. Consistency Award
    • C Chassis points Champion
  • 2nd Position - Dave Koenig - #97
    • A/B Chassis Points Champion
    • Social Media MVP
  • EXiT Realty Challenge Champion - Duane Noll -#2

    Congratulations to all of the teams for against all odds, making 2020 a success!